Mississippi Valley State University

July 25, 2016


Former MVSU coach to be inducted into SWAC Hall of Fame

December 06, 2011

The Southwestern Athletic Conference announced its Hall of Fame class for 2011. The six inductees; Jesse Mason (Arkansas-Pine Bluff), Richard Stebbins (Grambling State), Jessie L. Harris (Mississippi Valley State), Wilbert Ellis (Grambling State), Lonnie Walker (Alcorn State) and Lewis Tillman (Jackson State) will be enshrined in the SWAC Hall of Fame on Thursday, Dec. 8 at the Sheraton Birmingham Hotel. The induction is set to begin at 6 p.m. with a reception.

Harris coached the MVSU women's basketball program for 28 years (1973-2001). During that period, he took the Devilettes to new heights winning three SWAC championships (1988, 1989, 1993). He was named SWAC Coach of the Year three times (1982, 1987, 1988) and BCSIDA National University Coach of the Year in 1988-89. He led two MVSU teams to the Women's Basketball National Tournament and the AIAW and Black College National Tournaments. He is a member of the MVSU Athletics Hall of Fame and MVSU National Alumni Hall of Fame.